Four Congress MLAs have resigned since January

Earlier, Congress MLA Malladi Krishna Rao on 15 February and former PWD Minister A.K. Namasivamayee and E. Theppanjan resigned on 25 January. Whereas in July last year, another member of Congress has been disqualified for anti-party activities.

The number of pro-Congress DMK government members in Puducherry Assembly has reduced by half

Due to all these developments, the number of members supporting the Congress-DMK government in the 30-member Puducherry Assembly has reduced by half. The resignations have brought the number of Congress MLAs to 10, while the opposition has 14 MLAs.

Social Welfare Minister accuses Modi and Kiran Bedi of obstructing

On the other hand, Social Welfare Minister Kandhasamy released a video accusing Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi of disrupting the functioning of the Congress-DMK government in the last five years. He said that the election schedule is likely to be announced in two weeks. In such a situation, Chief Minister Narayanasamy has called a cabinet meeting to decide the dissolution of the assembly. It is known that the Congress got 15 seats in the 2016 assembly elections.

Kiran Bedi removed as Lt. Governor

Kiran Bedi has been removed from the post of Lt. Governor of Puducherry. This information has been given in a statement released from Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday. Dr. T. Soundararajan, Governor of Telangana, has been given the additional charge of Lt. Governor of Puducherry. She will also hold the post till the new appointment. The President’s order in this regard will be in force from the time he takes over.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here